Customer Testimonials

Brian W // February 2021
Herb got back to me the same day with an estimate and the work he did was on-point. I will be going to Trailtec 4x4 with any and all future needs for my truck..
 

 

 

Kevin S // January 2021
      I knew the work I wanted done on my 2016 JK with a 3.5" lift and 37" Tires; strength and performance were required (front and rear re-gear, new ball joints, axle shafts, and diff covers). However, I also could use a little guidance/opinion. My third contact was to Trailtec 4x4 and within a couple hours of my submission online Herb responded (I cannot say the same from my first two contacts). From there Herb and I went back and forth in a timely manner (I am talking minutes not days between communication) on what I wanted and him given his opinions along the way. Herb sent out a quote where everything was very transparent and detailed in the cost of both parts and labor. We made a few tweaks along the way and due to the nature of our conversations, the decision was easy to go with Trailtec 4x4, even though the shop is 2 hours from my home.
​     Once the vehicle was dropped off, Herb communicated with me along the way and the vehicle was done on time with no hidden costs. Keep in mind, I now had a two-hour drive to get back home on a vehicle that has had major work completed-no issues at all, not that I expected anything, but once your vehicle comes out of the shop you are questioning every noise you hear. I will be going back to Trailtec 4x4 for my next upgrade and will recommend Trailtec 4x4 without question.

 

 


Alex G // November 2020
Herb runs a great shop! He just installed a lift, wheels, and tires on my rig and I couldn’t be happier. Herb is very knowledgeable and great to work with, providing lots of options and helping explain what would work best for me. I highly recommend Trailtec!

 

 


Debi C // August 2020
A big shout out to the team at Trailtec 4x4 for the awesome makeover they did on my Jeep JK. New bumpers, winch, sPOD and OBA. They took the time to go over all the mods and helped me plan my next mods. Customer service is an A+. More importantly, I appreciate the integrity and honesty when recommending products based on my JeepLife.

 

 


P Harris // July 2020
The team at Trailtec 4x4 is so great! I needed to buy some recovery gear last minute for a beach camping trip and the guys at Trailtec had exactly what I needed, and they reserved the gear for me for two days to make sure I had what I needed for off roading in the sand. I’ll definitely call on this shop again. Thanks!

 

 


Quinn W // June 2020
​Excellent service! Parts came in quickly and work was done in excellent time! I am so happy I took my truck here!! Highly recommend for any 4x4!

 

 


Jason S // June 2020
Trailtec 4x4 provided great customer service, knowledge, and quality work on my 4Runner recently. I reached out with a set up I thought I wanted. Herb provided his knowledge / suggestions and talked to me about options to best fit my need. I was stoked with the final results. Customer service is hard to find at most off road shops and Trailtec 4x4 exceeded my expectations on that. Highly recommend.

 

 

Klint R // June 2020
I highly recommend Trailtec 4x4. I drive from Northern Virginia to get all of my work done on my Jeep as Herb is well priced and extremely trustworthy. You cannot place a price on honesty and quality.

 

 


Alex K // June 2020
Great customer service. Goes the extra mile for customers.

 

 


Zach W // June 2020
Herb was great to work. Top notch work and the best customer service in the area. Was also very accommodating.

 

 


​Austin H // May 2020
I had a set of wheels and tires installed while I’m currently overseas for work. Herb and his team consistently kept me updated and were very flexible for my situation. I highly recommend this company to anyone needing anything 4x4 related!

 

 


Steve D // May 2020
Great guy to work with and has very reasonable pricing! I will use TrailTec in the future.

 

 


Rob E // March 2020
I had a lift put on that well exceeded my expectations.

 

 


Chris W // December 2019
Trailtec is a Top Notch 4x4 shop. The guys are very knowledgeable and go above/beyond to assist in every way to complete your project. From start to finish I can't speak enough on the professionalism that was demonstrated to me.  I will never use anyone else.  They got 5 stars because 10 wasn't an option.

 

 


Sherri G // December 2019
​The experience that I had at Trailtec was perfect. From the day I called Mark with millions of questions until nearly 3 weeks later when I finally decided on a lift and tires, I knew I had chosen the right place. They made me feel very comfortable with my decision. I am thrilled with my jeep! Thanks guys!

 

 


Ray H // December 2019
I recommend them highly! Great customer Service, and know their stuff!

 

 


Kyle B // October 2019
​These guys are the real deal. Herb and Mark were extremely knowledgeable and accommodating to help me figure out how I wanted to lift my 2014 Tundra. Great communication from start to finish and helped me navigate a few things that came up during the process. I can't recommend them enough. If you're thinking about doing anything to your jeep or truck, go see them first.

 

 


Matt Lively // September 2019
​Good guys, good communication! Also didn't try to up-sell me on stuff I didn't need. I'd recommend them to anybody who owns a vehicle.

 

 


Patrick Coleman // August 2019
Trailtec 4x4 absolutely did an amazing job on my 2016 4Runner! I had some specific ideas in mind for my Toyota. Not only did Mark communicate in a quick and responsive manner, he and Herb researched greatly about my tire clearance, front level kit and wheel measurements to make sure the look I wanted was completed properly. I wanted to break out of that stock look with specifics in mind and Trailtec more than delivered on that!! I was blown away when I first saw it. Trailtec did everything I had asked for and exceeded my expectations for sure. I absolutely love how my 4Runner looks and performs now. I would highly recommend them for any off-road or overland needs. Herb and Mark are great to talk to, very knowledgeable and live for the off-road! I look forward to having Trailtec do more of my future mods on my 4Runner!

 

 


Jamie Cosby // August 2019
These folks are super awesome. A small business that gives you the personal attention that the others don’t. Very knowledgeable and they’ll help you build the rig you want and need to get you out there on epic adventures.

 

 


Marty Abeyta // August 2019
Looks like they did it again. Perfect service and good advise. Got some Dynatrac brakes and Rock Slide Industries Step Sliders. After having them for about two weeks I have to say I love them. The brakes have the power to stop the Jeep with 35s. And I’m a bigger guy with knee operations so it was hard getting in the Jeep. With these Rock Slides it’s a breeze. The two best things I have added to this Jeep are grab handles and the Rock Slides. Best money I have ever spent. Lol. Thank you Herb for all your advice and great work. That’s why I travel an hour and a half to go see you.

 

 


Mike Zandy // May 2019
I contacted 3 different shops to get a 4.5" lift w/ 37" tires. Trailtec 4x4 was the only shop to answer my call the same day (called and emailed each shop). The customer service and communication was everything I expected and more (between email and calls, we must have talked over 30 times). This is my second time getting a Jeep lifted and the process of working with Trailtec 4x4 (Mark in particular) was a very pleasant and rewarding experience. 
I have been back to Trailtec 4x4 twice since my lift was installed. The last time they installed a side steps with less than 2 days notice. They really went out of their way to make sure I was able to get this work done before vacation (thank you!).
Finally, and most importantly, the Jeep drives so smooth (compared to my last 2.5" lift, I'm shocked how well it handles) and I love the way it looks. Herb and his team did a fantastic job! I couldn't be happier with the way it turned out.
They also installed the Expedition One rear bumper and GoRhino side steps.
The only complaint I have is that I had to drive 2 hours each way to get this kind of service. 
This will not be the last time Trailtec 4x4 works on my Jeep. Can't wait to see you again!
 

 


Preston Wigner // May 2019
​The soft top on my Jeep needed to be replaced. I knew Trailtec specialized in off-road vehicles, but I wasn’t sure they would do something basic like this. I was so relieved when I called. They walked me through options based on first-hand experience, they made it very easy for me to choose the best top for me, and they quickly scheduled the work to be done. They were very professional, and they know EVERYTHING. There’s no other place I will take my Jeep for new tops, bumpers, etc.

 

 


C. Thompson // May 2019
​Awesome customer service very knowledge of their work and don’t try to sell you something you don’t need what also was amazing they would come outside and walk around your Jeep and before any work is started they will test drive too make sure everything is in working order on your Jeep which was awesome and afterwards I was completely satisfied with the work on my Jeep and will take it back there for future up grading to my Jeep thank you Mr. Mark and Mr. Herb.

 

 


J. Swavely // April  2019
Awesome job guys!! Tacoma came out bad@ss! Mark was great to work with and helped guide the project to get us the stance and look we wanted. Thank you!

 

 


Diego R // April 2019
I got a simple cab mount chop done at their shop, they did a great clean job. Herb and Mark are great guys very knowledgeable and great to talk to. I would definitely come back for future work and I would highly recommend them to anyone in the Richmond area to check them out.

 

 


Ben Lynch // April 2019
Trailtec 4x4 installed a lift and new tires on my truck, and did a flawless job. They are extremely responsive and will work with you to help figure out what to do to best optimize your vehicle based on your budget. They were helpful and had a viewpoint but were also flexible. Stop looking around, this is where you should go. I've gone to other big name shops and they don't give your project the focused attention that these guys do.

 

 


Wyatt Kramer // April 2019
​I brought my truck to Trailtec with a very specific vision in mind. Mark communicated all details, any worries, and all progress from the quote all the way to post-install follow up. If you want a shop who will go above and beyond to make sure you walk out with a quality build at a reasonable price, this is your shop!

 

 


Marc Olson // February 2019
True to their craft, True to their word, a rarity in these times, and the work is superb! Thanks again from your new lifelong customer!

 

 


Logan McPherson // October 11 2018
Absolutely GREAT to work with!! I would highly recommend their shop to anyone in search of off-road related products/services. I personally engaged Trailtec 4x4 for a quote on adding additional lift to my 2006 TJ. They asked some probing questions about what my vision was for the Jeep (which I thought was pretty cool and really appreciated) and then offered a number of suggestions regarding what products they would recommend. We settled on a package, I dropped the Jeep off, and picked it up a few days later. Rides like a dream and looks great as well...can't wait to get some 35" tires underneath! The Trailtec 4x4 staff are extremely knowledgeable, very personable, and quick to respond to email/phone calls. Work was completed within the quoted time and at a fair price. My experience really could not have been any better. I will definitely be back!

 

 


Tabb Jones // August 14, 2018
After many years of neglect, my 2006 Jeep LJ was an absolute nightmare to drive on the street. Bump steer, lane drift and leaning through every turn / curve like I was on the side of a mountain were just a couple of the issues I was experiencing. Herb and his team did an amazing job correcting every issue and improving the driveability far beyond my best expectations. The only issue I have now is getting the Jeep away from my wife and daughter long enough for me to get some seat time! Thanks Herb.

 

 


Darren Smith // August 1, 2018
I worked with David and Herb at Trailtec in re-gearing my 2006 LJ after I installed my lift and larger tires. They did an excellent job setting me up the correct gear package and ratio for my needs. Further, they do the extra things one may not expect such as a pre-drive in order to detect any issues before they start work as well as the break-in after the gears are installed. They are extremely friendly, professional, and most of all knowledgeable when it comes to Jeeps as well as all things 4x4. I will would not hesitate to go back for any future work I need done.



Scot Jones // August 1, 2018
So happy with my TJ. These guys did an amazing job helping me figure out what would look good and be affordable. I was referred by friends. Sure am glad I listened!



Sean Pinney  // July 7, 2018
Hands down the best option if your looking to improve/ enhance something with your 4x4. Herb did an amazing job with my Jeep. Everything is exactly how I wanted it. The customer service at Trailtec 4x4 is great. Both Herb and David are awesome and only want whats best for you. Five stars is an understatement. Ill be visiting them again for future projects.



Marty Abeyta // April 26, 2018
I took my Jeep to Trailtec 4x4 for gears and lockers. I came from Newport News because they were reasonably priced and didn’t pressure me. That’s big with me. All I can say is “Wow”. The service was fantastic. After a brief discussion on what work was to be done, Herb took me to the rental car location. On the way there I could see his mind at work listening to every sound that was coming from my Jeep. Like a Jeep whisperer. Ha ha ha. Then when I came back into town David picked me up. That is definitely customer service. It’s like I have a new Jeep now. It runs great. The set up they recommended is great. If you need work done on your Jeep I would definitely recommend Trailtec 4x4. Thanks guys for the great work and customer service you provided. You have a customer for life.



Preston Long // Mar 02, 2018
Great job! Herb is super knowledgeable and does good work. Would recommend to anyone!
Great Service



Tim Griles // Feb 26, 2018
Couldn’t be happier with the knowledge and service provided. Herb took the time to help me figure out what I needed, got it ordered and did a quick install.


   
Great Job
Melissa Clark // Jan 24, 2018
Herb @ Trailtec 4x4 did a great job welding new lower control arm brackets on my JK. Highly recommend him and his work.


   
Death Wobble
Susan Pereira // Dec 12, 2017
Herb was able to fix a heck of a Death Wobble in my 2015 JK. I had been to 2 other places, one of which “specializes” in Jeeps and other lifted vehicles. He got it fixed immediately, and checked in twice to make sure all was still working correctly.



Matt A // Nov 15, 2017
I can't thank Trailtec 4x4 enough for getting my steering and front end corrected!! After spending thousands and dealing with shops that don't know a whole lot about jeeps with upgraded suspension, I've found my go to shop. The jeep tracks tighter than it ever has. I will highly recommend Trailtec 4x4!
Great Work!
Matt Alexander // Nov 03, 2017
Herb does great work on anything 4x4! Been a pleasure doing business with him and Trailtec 4x4, would definitely recommend to anyone need help with their 4x4.


   
David Aherron // Oct 30, 2017
Great place to get your 4x4 worked on.


   
Jon Wood // Oct 27, 2017
I just got my Jeep back from Trailtec 4x4 and all I can say is, wow! Herb is a great guy to work with. After months of back and forth emails and questions he helped me narrow down on 4.56 gears and a locker for my Wrangler. If you need/want any work done on your 4x4, you owe it to yourself to contact Trailtec 4x4.


   
Steven Duffy // Jun 14, 2017
Just had some work done at Trailtec 4x4. Herb (the owner) took the time to get an idea of what I was looking for, then we looked through catalogs and discussed options. I couldn’t be happier with how my jeep looks. It was a great experience. Definitely plan on returning for future needs.


   
Greg Yeatts // May 23, 2017
Herb at Trailtec 4x4 did a great job installing a bumper on my JKU.



Shawn Walker // May 17, 2017
When my son and I had done all that we could to fix the driveline vibration issues on his lifted Jeep, we looked for a good shop to help resolve them. The first shop was just OK and that was reflected in the result, just OK and not fully resolving the issue. We learned about Herb and Trailtec. He took the time to help diagnose the issue and made specific recommendations without expecting us to have him do the work! Well that type of honesty earned him the job! He was willing to work with us, was responsive with continual updates and involved us in the decisions throughout. We are happy with the result. His price was very, very reasonable and NO hidden charges. We will be back for all our Jeep needs. Thanks again Herb!



Brian Scott // May 12, 2017
Herb answered all questions I had and was fairly priced and finished everything on time. It looks great. Will be back.



Richard Hammer // Feb 20, 2017
Recommendations were spot on. Work was fairly priced, does exactly as expected, and on time. Could not ask for a better partner for your 4x4 needs!



John Becker // Dec 07, 2016
Had my 2004 Silverado leveled out in a couple hours at a VERY fair price. I'll be going back to Herb for all of suspension/aftermarket setups. Great guy that does fantastic work!


   
Thomas Anderson // Nov 10, 2016
If you want quality work from a fellow enthusiast who knows his stuff this is where you want to take your rig. Don't waste your valuable time and hard earned money on big shops with huge overhead and a "sell sell sell" mentality. Herb is a straight shooter with fair prices that will take the time to talk with you about your build and work with you from start to finish. From a simple bolt on to full on custom fabrication he has you covered.



Rich Reutti // Nov 01, 2016
Found Trailtec 4x4 on a Google search. What a professional in a field full of rip off artists. Used a "reputable" shop to put a 2" suspension lift in a 2003 Wrangler Sport. They mounted the rear shocks sideways and with bridge welds because of rust. For real...can't make this stuff up. Herb assessed the issue and rectified it quickly and like a true pro. His workmanship is top notch. I would recommend him 100%. Trailtec 4x4 should be everyone's first stop.


   
Aaron Cravens // Sep 14, 2016
Herb at Trailtec 4x4 provided A+ service and installation. I think i bugged him for weeks with questions and concerns prior to installing my lift, he happily answered each of my questions and gave me recommendations. He truly loves what he does and is honest! Thanks Herb!


   
Dianne Barba // Aug 26, 2016
Herb has worked on several of our jeeps. Work is top notch and pricing is competitive. Love that Herb has extensive knowledge of jeeps and off road needs and give honest recommendations.


   
Daniel Dodd // Aug 11, 2016
Found Trailtec 4x4 when I was searching around town for the best place for gear installs. Herb ,the owner, has since helped me countless times. He has installed my front Tru-trac, rear arb, gears, custom work and even rebuilt my stock transfer case beefing it up with Teraflex components.